Scroll Top

About Us

The Housing Authority of Elgin, Illinois (HAE) is a public housing agency established under the United States Housing Act of 1937/310 ILCS 10 Housing Authority Act.

“The mission of the Housing Authority of Elgin is to cause the creation of affordable housing through the development and management of affordable and market rate housing while improving the quality of life for families and promoting self-sufficiency.”

The Housing Authority Of Elgin hours of operation are:

Monday, Tuesday & Thursdays – 8:30 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.

Wednesday & Friday- CLOSED

(Wednesday’s and Friday’s- Participants will been seen by appointment only. No walk-Ins accepted.)

Saturday-Sunday: CLOSED

*Closed for Lunch daily 12:00-1:00 p.m.


Board Of Commissioners

The Housing Authority of Elgin, Illinois is governed by a six-member board of commissioners, one of whom is an HAE resident.  The Mayor of Elgin appoints the volunteer board members subject to confirmation by the Elgin City Council.

The Commissioners are responsible for approving the agency’s annual budget and for setting policy.  Commissioners ensure that the HAE operates within the law and according to the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development regulations. The HAE’s Executive Director serves as secretary for the Board.

Regular Board meetings are usually held on the fourth Tuesday of the month. Agendas are normally published the prior week. Meetings can be cancelled if there is no official business for the Board to attend to.


Current Board of Commissioners
Janet Ellingson
Board Attorney
download (1)
F. John Steffen
download (2)
Nuhemi Salazar Morales
Elizabeth Odumuyiwa
download (4)
Ruth Stephens
Future Board Member
Vacant Seat