Housing Choice Voucher Program

The Housing Choice Voucher Program (commonly referred to as Section 8) issues vouchers that pay a portion of the monthly rent for privately owned units.  The Housing Authority of Elgin screens applicants and provides eligible households with a voucher (also referred to as subsidy).  Vouchers may be used to lease a unit for any landlord in within the HAE jurisdiction.  The HAE jurisdiction includes the following villages and municipalities:

  • Algonquin
  • Batavia
  • Carpentersville
  • East & West Dundee
  • Elburn
  • Elgin (includes Cook County Elgin)
  • Geneva
  • Gilberts
  • Hampshire
  • North Aurora
  • South Elgin
  • St. Charles
  • Sugar Grove

Households in this program earn 30% of Area Median Income or less to qualify, and pay a portion of rent and utilities not covered by the voucher – typically 30-40% of their monthly income

HAE administers 1101 vouchers for participants who reside in approved privately owned housing throughout the jurisdiction of municipalities and villages listed above.

Section 8 Housing Search

The Housing Authority has partnered with www.GoSection8.com, to provide an enhanced program to list rental properties on line. Listings are available to potential Housing Choice Voucher tenants seeking apartment units, duplexes, single-family homes or town-homes in the private market. If you have any questions regarding registering, creating or viewing property listings, please contact the GoSection8 toll free help line at 1-866-466-7328.

Payment Standards Schedule Effective 1/1/2018

0 Bedrooms


1 Bedrooms


2 Bedrooms


3 Bedrooms


4 Bedrooms


5 Bedrooms


6 Bedrooms


View FY 2018 Income Limits